The JavaScript support is disabled on your browser. JavaScript is required to view this page correctly.
Please enable JavaScript and refresh this page.

Main Content

Educational Services

Main Content

« return to main Attendance Campaign Page

Every School Day Counts banner


2017 Principal Attendance Awareness Challenge

A significant part of the 2017 Attendance Awareness Campaign was an effort to recognize those superstar principals who are actively engaging parents, students, and staff to improve attendance and decrease chronic absence by implementing effective site-based strategies.

Principals were invited to complete an online survey describing their rate of chronic absenteeism and to identify the strategies and tools used to raise awareness of the importance of attending school every day. Additionally, they were asked to describe what incentives they used to promote consistent attendance and how they addressed specific barriers faced by their students. Responses were rated based on points allotted for each question and used to determine the winners of this challenge.

Due to a generous donation from Phillips 66, a $10 gift card was awarded to all respondents who completed the survey. Additionally, $500 for the grand prize winner, $300 for the second place winner, and $200 for the third place winner. The three winners and all who completed the survey were also recognized in the 2018 Attendance Awareness Calendar.

Principal Challenge winning principals pictured with Superintendent Karen Sakata and Board President, Fatima Alleyne

Pictured from left to right, Superintendent Karen Sakata; Jessica Petrilli, Helms Middle School; Alison Huie, Sylvester Greenwood Academy; Jeff Wallace, John Swett High School; Laura Casdia, Ayers Elementary; Linn Kiffinger, Ygnacio Valley Elementary; County Board President, Fatima Alleyne, PH.D.

Grand Prize Winner

Jeff Wallace, John Swett High School
John Swett Unified School District

Second Place Winner

West Contra Costa Unified School District
Alison Huie, Sylvester Greenwood Academy

Third Place Winner

West Contra Costa Unified School District
Jessica Petrilli, Helms Middle School

Runners Up

Antioch Unified School District
Lindsay Wisely, Antioch Middle School

John Swett Unified School District
Annie Flores-Aikey, Carquinez Middle School

Mt. Diablo Unified School District
Laura Casdia, Ayers Elementary
Patti Bannister, Diablo View Middle
Linn Kissinger, Ygnacio Valley Elementary

Oakley Union Elementary School District
Tawny Leonard, Gehringer Elementary

West Contra Costa Unified School District
Katherine Acosta-Verprauskus, Montalvin Manor Elementary
Peter Aloo, Stewart Elementary
Farnaz Heydari, Grant Elementary
Edith Jordan-McCormick, El Cerrito High
Kibby Kleiman, Pinole Valley High

Phillips 66 dontated the funds that made this challenge possible.

return to top of page

Page updated on: January 24, 2018

Rev: 0.4-010514-BETA4