CTE Teacher Named CCCOE Teacher of the Year

Veteran CTE Educator Named 2022-2023 CCCOE Teacher of the Year
Posted on 03/17/2022
CCCOE Student Programs Teacher of the YearPLEASANT HILL, Calif. – Christina Carter, a career technical education (CTE) teacher at the Contra Costa Adult School (CCAS) was named the Contra Costa County Office of Education’s Teacher of the Year in a virtual ceremony Thursday evening. She becomes eligible to be a nominee for the County Teacher of the Year competition which announces two county winners in September.

A 26-year teaching veteran, Carter has worked at CCAS since 2017 as a CTE computer teacher, working with an incarcerated population, facilitating a successful transition of her students back into their communities and equipping them with foundational technical skills needed to gain employment. She is also a Teacher on Special Assignment (TOSA) at CCAS serving as the school’s Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC) coordinator where she facilitates the school-wide Action Plan and works with a diverse staff providing support through data analysis and technology skill development, curriculum selection and other support to improve instructional practices.

“It is truly an honor to be a part of the Teacher of the Year process for the CCCOE Student Programs,” said Nick Berger, senior director of Student Programs at the Contra Costa County Office of Education. “I am so proud of what our teachers bring to the classrooms, and in some cases screens, to support the academic and social emotional growth of our students.”

Carter’s teaching approach is student-centered ensuring a supportive, non-judgemental environment, coupled with hands-on and cooperative learning, and individual projects that develop 21st-century skills that are relevant in today’s workforce, and help to close the technology gap and digital divide that limits future opportunities for students.

“I have chosen to work with this population from marginalized communities and have been driven to improve their quality of education and the opportunities for employment,” Carter said in her Teacher Statement on her application. “My work in CCAS as a TOSA, WASC coordinator and computer applications teacher affords me plenty of touch points where I can impact the quality of education the students receive.”

Carter continuously strives to create opportunities for her students, helping to implement programs that have seen increased graduation rates; reestablishing the computer ROP program; creating programs that earn college credit; and establishing relationships with Instawork Staffing Company to provide students with employment and job search support services to further increase their opportunity for success as they reenter their communities.

She also wrote, “I want to expand the awareness of the work that we do in adult education and more specifically incarcerated adults transitioning back to their communities … When the formerly incarcerated are successful, we all win. This is the ultimate validation of the work that I do for my students.”

Carter is one of approximately 20 other educators who have been or will be named Teachers of the Year for their school districts. Each of them becomes nominees for the Contra Costa County Teacher of the Year program, which is coordinated by the Contra Costa County Office of Education (CCCOE). A panel of approximately 30 educators, business and public-sector representatives score a three-stage selection process to narrow down to four finalists which are announced on May 3. The winners of the CCC Teacher of the Year program are announced in an in-person ceremony on Thursday, September 22, 2022, at Lesher Center.

2022-2023 CCCOE Teacher of the Year nominees:
Christina Carter, Contra Costa Adult School
Kathy Grant, Heritage High School
Andria Madsen, Liberty Transition
Csaba Molnar, Contra Costa Adult School
John Putt, Contra Costa Adult School
Kerry Rooney, Mt. McKinley School
Wendee Weiss, Golden Gate Community School

Previous CCCOE Winners:
1993-94 Ann Mason, ROP
1994-95 Claudia Bass, Montair, Special Education
1995-96 Nancy Janes Pierce, Marchus School, Special Education
1996-97 Judy Soares, Mauzy School, Special Education
2001-02 Jim Mattsen, Byron School
2002-03 Claudia Bass, ROP, DVC
2003-04 Veronica Wood, Mt. McKinley School, Court School
2004-05 Becky Arnott, Marchus School, Special Education
2005-06 Gwendolyn W. Shelton, Mt. McKinley School, Special Education
2006-07 James Koch, Liberty Transition, Special Education
2007-08 Michael Rogers
2008-09 Jacqueline Rosig, Mt. McKinley School, Court School
2009-10 Betty McPeak, Turner School, Special Education
2010-11 Aster Tadesse, Parole Education/STAR
2011-12 Marie Graham-Tyler, Mauzy School, Special Education
2012-13 William Hyers, Golden Gate Community School, Rodeo
2013-14 Jennifer Martinez, CTE/ROP, Clinical Med
2014-15 Joann Rossi, Marchus Early Start, Special Education
2015-16 Laurel Patterson, ROP, Marchus School, Special Education
2016-17 Angela Taylor, Parolee Education
2017-18 Rhuepell Stroud, Mt. McKinley School, Court School
2018-19 Glenn Barker, ROP Northgate High School, Sports Medicine
2019-20 Kevin McKibben, Mt. McKinley CTE, Court School
2020-21 Ellyn Hustead, Golden Gate Community School, Special Education
2021-22 Sarah Buhre, Delta Vista School, Special Education
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.