2021 National Merit Scholars

Four Local Students Named National Merit Scholars
Posted on 04/21/2021

Contra Costa County Office of Education (CCCOE) is proud to recognize four local student winners of corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarship Awards, in the 66th annual edition of the distinguished program.

CCCOE congratulates the following students on their outstanding academic achievements and awards:

  • Kevin Chen, Dougherty Valley High School, San Ramon, CA
  • Bhavya Gupta, California High School, San Ramon, CA
  • Clara Hung, Summit K2, El Cerrito, CA
  • Sanjana S. Ranganathan, Dougherty Valley High School, San Ramon, CA

“We are extremely proud to have four students representing Contra Costa County as National Merit Scholarship winners.” Contra Costa County Superintendent of Schools Lynn Mackey said. “We congratulate our students on their academic achievements, commitment to extracurricular activities, and leadership skills. We thank the educational institutions and educators that have supported these students on their path to success and wish our students the best in their academic careers.”

Winners of the National Merit Scholarship awards are the Finalist candidates judged to have the strongest combination of academic skills and performance, extracurricular accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies.

Over 1.5 million juniors in about 21,000 high schools entered the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program when they took the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screening of program entrants. By the conclusion of the 2021 competition, about 7,500 Finalists will have been selected to receive National Merit Scholarships totaling nearly $30 million.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.