California Distinguished Schools Include Five in Contra Costa County

Posted on 12/19/2019

Five Contra Costa County elementary schools are being honored as 2020 California Distinguished Schools by the California Department of Education. Schools are awarded for their work toward closing the achievement gap and for achieving exceptional student performance. Schools that applied were eligible based on their performance and progress on the state indicators as described on the California School Dashboard. Indicators include test scores, suspension rates, and conditions and climate. Elementary schools and middle/high schools are recognized in alternate years; therefore, awardees hold the title for two years.

“We are thrilled for this year’s group of Distinguished Schools in our county, said Lynn Mackey, Contra Costa County Superintendent of Schools. “I want to congratulate all the staff members, students and parents at these schools for creating such a rich educational environment to merit such a prestigious honor.”

The Contra Costa County schools being honored are:

  • Burton Valley Elementary, Lafayette Elementary School District

  • John Muir Elementary, Martinez Unified School District

  • Silverwood Elementary, Mt. Diablo Unified School District

  • Hidden Hills Elementary, San Ramon Valley Unified School District

  • Sycamore Valley Elementary, San Ramon Valley Unified School District

The 323 California Distinguished Schools will be honored on February 10, 2020, during an awards ceremony in Anaheim. The complete list of the honorees is available here.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.