ROP Students of Excellence Awardees named for 2020

ROP Students of Excellence Awardees named for 2020
Posted on 05/27/2020

PLEASANT HILL, Calif., May 27, 2020 – The Contra Costa County Office of Education (CCCOE) is honored to announce the 2020 ROP Students of Excellence nominees and award winners. The ROP Students of Excellence awards acknowledge the outstanding work and commitment of high school students in our Regional Occupational Programs (ROP), a part of many high schools’ Career Technical Education (CTE) program and supported by the CCCOE’s College and Career Readiness department.

These students were selected by their teachers to recognize their outstanding achievements. The ROP Students of Excellence selection committee was amazed by the caliber of applicants. Twenty-four students are each receiving a $400 scholarship and six students are being recognized as nominees with a $50 gift card.

These ROP students are involved in courses from Culinary Arts to Civil Engineering, Careers with Children to Construction Technology, Law Enforcement to Graphic Arts, and many more. Students participate in a variety of work-based learning activities as they gain valuable experience in potential career pathways. CCCOE’s ROP Students of Excellence program is sponsored by Chevron and Phillips 66. Their generous support allows us to recognize the accomplishments of these talented and dedicated students.

Regional Occupational Centers and Programs (ROCPs) have been an integral part of California’s educational system for over 50 years. California’s 49 ROCPs provide high school and adult students with valuable career technical education so students can (1) enter the workforce with skills and competencies to be successful in life, (2) pursue advanced training in higher educational institutions, and/or (3) upgrade existing skills and knowledge. The Contra Costa County CTE/ROP serves more than 6,000 students annually with classes in 20 high schools throughout Contra Costa and Alameda counties. Currently, there are 256 state-of-the-art ROP classes in this program. CTE/ROP focuses on career preparation and exploration, hands-on experience, and academic excellence to prepare students for success in college and future careers. CTE/ROP provides students with the newest equipment, rigorous academic standards, and classes in emerging technologies. All of the CTE/ROP classes and programs are directed by and funded through the CCCOE. For more information about CTE/ROP classes, visit their website.

The following outstanding students will all receive certificates of merit. In addition to the certificate, awardees will receive a $400 scholarship.

(See below for listing of student names, their school, and their CTE/ROP course – listed alphabetical by city)


Albany High School

Salome Monnet, Photography


Deer Valley High School

Nick Perilla, TV Production

Citlali Perez, Play Production

Heritage High School

Matteo Benedetti, Robotics Engineering

Marina Bourque, Advanced Video Production

Tyler Hester, Digital, Recording Studio

Alyssa Wilkins-Jones, CADD

Cameron Manning, Law Enforcement Careers

Jocelyn Zuniga, TV Broadcasting

Liberty High School

Wyatt Thomas, Automotive

Clayton Valley Charter High School

Andrew Arthur McGallian, Civil Engineering Architecture


John Swett High School

Larry Donnell Tobor, III, CADD

Alhambra High School
Mason Canton, Construction Technology


Campolindo High School
Elizabeth Davis, Sports Medicine

Freedom High School

A'Shanti Crocker, Careers with Children


Piedmont High School

Asa Levine, AP Computer Science

Riley Macy, Culinary Arts

Pittsburg High School
Caitlin Baio, Broadcast Journalism

Jesus Barragan, Art of Video

Deepika Rani, Graphic Arts


Richmond High School                                                                                                      

California High School
Sarah O'Brien, Play Production

Dougherty Valley High School   

Matthew Deinitchenko, Advanced Sports Medicine                                                                                       

Neha Vinjapuri, AP Computer Science

Las Lomas High School
Raishma Anwar, Medical Technologies

The following nominated students will receive $50 gift cards:

Monte Vista High School

Brendan P. Leahey, AP CS A, Java

Alexander P. Oshima, AP Computer Science

Alhambra High School
Danny Leidich, Construction Technology

Freedom High School

Ashley Savage, Advanced Graphic Design


Piedmont High School

Jeremy Yiu, AP Computer Science


Richmond High School                                                                                                      

Dannieze Miguel, Play Production

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.