County Board of Education

Winning students of the Every School Day Counts poster competition standing in front of the County Board members

The Contra Costa County Board of Education works with the County Superintendent of Schools to provide leadership, service, and support to the districts and all students of Contra Costa County through teamwork, communication, integrity, creativity, expertise, and advocacy for all learners.


The Contra Costa County Board of Education is the elected Board of Education for the County of Contra Costa. The Board of Education consists of five members elected by trustee districts to staggered four-year terms. Each Board member represents a different area of the county and must be a registered voter in that area. In accordance with the California Education Code and certain other rules and laws, the Contra Costa County Board of Education the County Office of Education.

Contra Costa County Board of Education Map

Map is intended for general reference only and should not be used for legal or navigational purposes.


The Board establishes educational policies for the programs administered by the County Office of Education. These programs include Special Education, Educational Opportunities, and Career Development. The Board also:

  • Approves selected curriculum for education programs operated by the County Office of Education.

  • Reviews and approves the County Office of Education budget.

  • Hears appeals on interdistrict transfer disputes and expulsion cases.

  • Adopts the standard list of school supplies, educational films, and supplemental materials for use by districts in the County.

  • Provides resources and information to school district governing boards.

  • Advocates on behalf of education on the local, state and national levels.

  • Acts as the County Committee on School District Organization, which reviews changes in school district boundaries.

2016-17 County Board of Education Goals (PDF)



Fatima S. Alleyne, Ph.D., President

Email Trustee Alleyne

Area 1: El Cerrito, El Sobrante, Kensington, San Pablo, and parts of Pinole and Richmond

Term Expires: 11/27/2020


Christine W. Deane

Email Trustee Deane

Area 2: Crockett, Hercules, Lafayette, Moraga, Orinda, Port Costa, Rodeo, and parts of Alamo, Concord, Martinez, Pinole, Pleasant Hill, Richmond, and Walnut Creek

Term Expires: 11/29/2018


Vikki J. Chavez

Email Trustee Chavez

Area 3: Pacheco and parts of Clayton, Concord, Martinez, Pittsburg, Pleasant Hill, and Walnut Creek

Term Expires: 11/27/2020


Mike Maxwell

Email Trustee Maxwell

Area 4: Blackhawk, Byron, Danville, Diablo, Discovery Bay, San Ramon, and parts of Alamo, Antioch, Brentwood, Clayton, and Concord

Term Expires: 11/29/2018


Jeff Belle, Vice President

Email Trustee Belle

Area 5: Bethel Island, Clyde, Knightsen, Oakley, and parts of Antioch, Bay Point, Brentwood, and Pittsburg

Term Expires: 11/29/2018



To speak at a Board meeting, complete a Speaker's Card available on the table at the front of the meeting room and submit the card to the Clerk to the Board prior to the meeting.

To include printed materials in Board packets, submit the materials to the County Office of Education by 5:00 p.m. on the Wednesday of the week preceding the meeting.


Title Name (click to email) Phone Fax
Clerk to the Board of Education Loreen Joseph (925) 942-3380 (925) 472-0875
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.