2023 ACSA Administrators of the Year

Three CCCOE Employees Named School Administrators of the Year by ACSA Region 6
Posted on 03/17/2023
PLEASANT HILL, Calif. – Three Contra Costa County Office of Education (CCCOE) employees were selected as 2023 Administrators of the Year by the Association of California School Administrators (ACSA) Region 6.

ACSA Region 6, which represents public school administrators in Alameda and Contra Costa counties, named Credential Supervisor Kandi Hayes as the Personnel/HR Administrator of the Year, College and Career Readiness Coordinator Jeff Brauning as the Career Technical Administrator of the Year, and Literacy ELA/ELD Coordinator Erin Roberts as the Curriculum & Instruction Administrator of the Year.

Kandi Hayes has worked for CCCOE since 2000. She assists 18 school districts and charter schools in the county with credential and assignment questions, while collaborating with various agencies throughout California to ensure certificated employees have proper credentials. “Having the ability to help an individual navigate through the credential requirements to achieve their dreams of educating students is a true honor,” Hayes said. “Assisting the districts and charters in this challenging time of hiring quality teachers is such an important task that I take very seriously.”

Jeff Brauning began his journey in education nearly 30 years ago, working as a secondary teacher, assistant principal, high school principal, and the last five years as a coordinator for the county office of education. Brauning shares that his career has allowed him to follow his passion and create wonderful relationships with the many colleagues, families, teachers, and students he has had the pleasure of supporting. “Being recognized by your peers for the work you are passionate about is a great honor,” Brauning said. “I have been an ACSA member throughout my career as an administrator and believe wholeheartedly in their mission and values of always putting students first. I want to thank ACSA and especially ACSA region 6 for recognizing and supporting all school administrators for the great work they accomplish every day.”

Erin Roberts grew up in Contra Costa County and attended Antioch schools. She began her teaching career in Mt. Diablo USD, where her parents were teachers, and then worked in Brentwood. She was an Administrator in Oakley for nine years and in 2022 joined the Contra Costa County Office of Education in the Educational Services Department as a Coordinator of ELA/ELD and Literacy. She believes every child can read and works toward this goal each day. “This (recognition) is a HUGE honor and I feel humbled and proud of the work we all do,” Roberts said.

The Administrator of the Year Awards nominees and winners will be celebrated on Thursday, April 27, 2023, at the Double Tree Hotel in Pleasanton from 5 p.m. to 8 p.m. Tickets are available on Eventbrite: https://AOYR62023.eventbrite.com.

ACSA serves educational leaders in the pursuit of equity and excellence to meet the diverse needs of all California students.


About Contra Costa County Office of Education
One of 58 counties in California, Contra Costa County has the 9th largest public-school student population in the state (approximately 158,401 students). Officially established in 1932, the CCCOE has a long history of providing direct services to some of our county's most vulnerable students, including young people who are incarcerated, homeless, or in foster care, as well as students who have severe physical or emotional challenges.

CCCOE also provides support services to schools and school districts in Contra Costa County; services that can be handled most effectively and economically on a regional basis rather than by each of the county's 285 schools or 18 school districts. These services range from budget approval and fiscal support to technology infrastructure, communication support, and high-level professional development opportunities for educators. CCCOE maintains a website at www.cocoschools.org.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.